Current Archaeology Awards

Current Archaeology Awards

The winners of the 16th annual Current Archaeology Awards were announced on Saturday 24 February, as part of Current Archaeology Live! 2024.

The awards celebrate the projects and publications that made the pages of the magazine over the past 12 months, and the people judged to have made outstanding contributions to archaeology.

These awards are voted for entirely by the public – there are no panels of judges – so we encouraged you to get involved and choose the projects, publications, and people you wanted to win.

The winners of the 2024 Current Archaeology Awards, stood in front of a conference banner holding their trophies.
L-R: Dr Sasja van der Vaart-Verschoof, Prof Dr Luc Amkreutz, Alice Beasley, Dr Julie Bond, Rose Karpinski, Dr Cathy Batt, and Dr John Gater (collecting the awards on behalf of Nick Card and the Ness of Brodgar team) [Photo Credit: Mark Edwards / Current Archaeology]

The winners are:

Archaeologist of the Year 2024:

Nick Card

Research Project of the Year 2024:

The Ness of Brodgar: marking 20 years of Neolithic discoveries
Ness of Brodgar Trust

Rescue Project of the Year 2024:

The Knowe of Swandro: excavating eroding archaeology in Orkney
Swandro-Orkney Coastal Archaeology Trust / University of Bradford

Book of the Year 2024:

Doggerland: lost world under the North Sea
By Luc Amkreutz and Sasja van der Vaart-Verschoof (eds)

For more information on the winners, and all of the nominees in each category, click on the links below:

Archaeologist of the Year 2024
Research Project of the Year 2024
Rescue Project of the Year 2024
Book of the Year 2024