Lifetime achievement award for Mick Aston

1 min read

Professor Mick Aston  has been presented with a  Lifetime Achievement Award  at the 2012 British Archaeological Awards.  

Held at the British Museum, the awards celebrate various aspects of archaeology, as nominated by the archaeological community.

Best known for his appearances on  Time Team  and his academic work at the University of Bristol, Mick Aston was recognised for his long-term commitment to public education and for his on-going support for developing understanding of past human behaviour, as well as major personal contributions to archaeological knowledge and the development of new methodologies.

Dr Mike Heyworth,  Director of the Council for British Archaeology and chairman of the awards, said: ‘All the winners and other highly commended nominations are to be congratulated. Individually and collectively they demonstrate the diverse and flourishing nature of archaeology across the UK. It is a discipline which not only advances our understanding of humanity, but also engages everyone and has the potential to make a significant contribution to our individual well-being and sense of community.’

The other winners this year were:

Best Archaeological Project:  Must Farm  (see  CA  263)

Best Archaeological Book:  Gathering Time: Dating the Early Neolithic Enclosures of Southern Britain and Ireland, by Alasdair Whittle, Frances Healy and Alex Bayliss (see  CA  259)

Best Public Presentation of Archaeology:  Time Team  series 18 episode 1, ‘Reservoir Rituals’ (see  CA  252  for our  Time Team  special)

Best Community Archaeology Project: Museum of London Archaeology  Thames Discovery Programme  (see  CA  244)

Best Archaeological Innovation: The Archaeology Data Service grey literature library

Best Archaeological discovery: Cambridge Archaeological Unit at  Must Farm  (see  CA  263)

Special  Award:  Operation Nightingale  (follow the link to read about our visit to their Caerwent dig, or see  CA  265, 267, and watch this space for more in 270!)

Congratulations to this year’s deserving winners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.