Current Archaeology Awards 2017 – Winners Announced!

1 min read

The results are in, and having counted your votes, we are pleased to share the winners of the 9th annual Current Archaeology Awards, as announced on Friday 24 February at Current Archaeology Live! 2017.

Archaeologist of the Year:
Mark Knight

Book of the Year:
Images of the Ice Age by Paul Bahn

Research Project of the Year:
Rethinking Durrington Walls: a long-lost monument revealed
(Stonehenge Riverside Project / Stonehenge Hidden Landscapes Project / National Trust)

Rescue Project of the Year:
The Must Farm inferno: exploring an intact Late Bronze Age settlement
(Cambridge Archaeological Unit / University of Cambridge)

Archaeological Innovation of the Last 50 Years:
LiDAR as exemplified by the New Forest National Park Authority

Every year, the Current Archaeology Awards celebrate the projects and publications that have made the pages of Current Archaeology, and the people judged to have made outstanding contributions to archaeology.  These awards are voted for entirely the public – there are no panels of judges.

To find out more about the nominees in each award category, click on the links below:

Archaeologist of the Year
Book of the Year
Research Project of the Year
Rescue Project of the Year
Archaeological Innovation of the Last 50 Years

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.